Recognizing CANASA’s award winners 2017

CANASA honours and congratulations the following members that received CANASA awards in Laval, Quebec on April 26, 2017.

President’s Award of Excellence - Carol Cairns
Carol CairnsThe President’s Award of Excellence is presented to a CANASA member who assisted the National President in a significant way, in recognition of their support over many years of service. Carol Cairns served on the Audit Committee, By-Law Committee, Executive Committee, and National Board.

Regional Council of the Year Award – Southwestern Ontario
Brian Gibb, SWO Regional CouncilThe Regional Council of the Year Award is presented to a very active Regional Council that has made outstanding contributions towards the betterment of CANASA and the security industry. The Southwestern Regional Council is a very dedicated group of volunteers, not only are they very active and passionate about CANASA and the industry, but they have been successfully managing member meetings for over 30 years, which is quite an achievement.

Left: Brian Gibbs, President, Southwestern Ontario Regional Council accepts award 

Thank you to all of the Southwestern Ontario Regional Council Members:

  • Brian Gibbs
  • Angelo Bucciarelli
  • Al Herrington
  • Robert Hoevenaars
  • Christopher Kennedy
  • Mark R. Smith

Honorary Member Award – Karen McGee
Karen McGeeThe Honorary Member Award is given to a Regional Council Representative who is soon to retire or who has recently resigned, in recognition of their great contributions over a term.  Recipients are selected by their respective Regional Councils. The British Columbia Regional Council has selected Karen McGee to be a recipient of this award.  Karen has been a dedicated and involved member of CANASA for many years; she has been a key contributor to the association from National Board President, to Regional Council President as well as Nominating Committee Chair. Karen’s dedication and enthusiasm for the Association is greatly respected and appreciated.

Regional Council Presidents Award
The Regional Council Presidents Award is given to Regional Council Presidents for completing a two-year term, for leadership of the Regional Council.The following awards have been presented. More to be announced and presented at upcoming events.

Brian Gibbs Stephen Goodship Neil Jones
Brian Gibbs
Southwestern Ontario Regional Council

Stephen Goodship
Southern Alberta Regional Council
Neil Jones
Northern Alberta Regional Council

Chris Izatt
Anna d Jager   Michel Houde
Chris Izatt
Eastern Ontario
Regional Council
Anna de Jager
Central Ontario
Regional Council
Michel Houde*
Quebec Regional Council *(deceased)

National Presidents Award – Richard McMullen

Richard McMullenThis award is given to the National President for completing a two-year term, for leadership of the National Board. In addition to being a strong leader of the National Board Richard has been integral to the success of CANASA as it went through staffing transitions during his term.


Board Awards
This year we have three departing National Board Members who have been on the national board collectively for over 20 years. CANASA recognized, Carol Cairns, Carl Jorgenson and Shawn Lazaruk for their time and dedication to CANASA and in recognition to the years of volunteering to help grow and improve both CANASA and the industry.

Carol Cairns Carl Jorgenson Shawn Lazaruk
Carol Cairns

Cark Jorgenson
Shawn Lazaruk